aibrevoBook a call

Can You Use ClickUp as a CRM? Limits, Cost and When monday CRM Is Safer

Yes, you can use ClickUp as a CRM: ClickUp's own help center shows lists for leads, deals, accounts and contacts linked by relationship columns. It works for small pipelines on a paid plan, but you build every CRM behavior yourself and automation actions are metered per workspace.

Key takeaways

  • ClickUp's help center describes a CRM built from List views for leads, deals, accounts and contacts, with Relationship columns linking contacts to accounts and accounts to deals; there is no separate CRM product to buy (checked Oct 22, 2026).
  • ClickUp automations are metered per workspace: 100 actions a month and 5 active rules on Free, 1,000 actions on Core, 10,000 on Business (ClickUp pricing page, checked Oct 22, 2026). A busy lead pipeline can spend that quickly.
  • At list price with annual billing, 5 seats cost about $45 a month on ClickUp Core ($9 each) and $60 on monday CRM Basic ($12 each), so the saving is small once you count the CRM features monday adds (both pricing pages, checked Oct 22, 2026).
  • monday CRM Basic caps a workspace at 1,000 active contacts and deals, Standard at 10,000 and Pro at 100,000; ClickUp states no contact cap, because it has no contact object to cap.
  • Use ClickUp as a CRM when sales is a small side of a team that already runs work in ClickUp; move to a real CRM when you need email sync into contact records, forecasting or a few hundred active deals.

ClickUp can work as a CRM for a small pipeline, but it is not one out of the box. ClickUp’s own help center shows the pattern: one List each for leads, deals, accounts and contacts, a Board view for stages, and Relationship columns to link contacts to accounts and accounts to deals. Plan limits matter more than the template: automations are capped per workspace (1,000 actions a month on Core), and you build every sales behavior yourself.

Is ClickUp a CRM, according to ClickUp?

ClickUp calls it a CRM that adapts to your workflow: “Build a tailored CRM with pipeline tracking, deal stages, and automation, so your process works your way” (ClickUp sales page, checked Oct 22, 2026). The same page lists forms to capture leads, dashboards with “50+ customizable widgets”, and email integration with Salesforce, HubSpot, Gmail and Outlook.

That wording tells you what you are buying. There is no CRM edition or CRM price. You use the same workspace you use for tasks, with the Sales & CRM template category (61 templates when we looked) as a starting layout. ClickUp’s help center has a section titled “ClickUp for CRM” and an article, “Use views for CRM”, that recommends Lists for leads, deals, accounts and contacts, Board views for lead stages and Table views for account fields.

The structure is the easy part. What you do not get is a pre-built sales engine, so the question to answer before you start is whether you want to maintain one. The monday.com CRM comparison further down shows the other end of that trade.

What do ClickUp’s plans limit for CRM use?

The limits that touch a pipeline are automation actions, active rules, lists per space and storage. ClickUp’s pricing page lists these (checked Oct 22, 2026):

PlanPrice per user per month (annual billing)Automation actions per workspace per monthActive automation rulesLists per spaceStorage
Free Forever$010054060 MB
Core$9 (struck-through $12)1,000Unlimited200Unlimited
Business$17 (struck-through $25)10,000Unlimited400Unlimited
EnterpriseContact sales1,000,000Unlimited1,500Unlimited

The page also shows an older price layout (Unlimited at $7 and Business at $12 billed yearly, with 5,000 automations a month). It does not say which layout is current, so treat the table above as the newer one and confirm on the page before you buy. API calls are 100 a minute on Free, Core and Business.

Here is what that means in practice, as arithmetic and not a ClickUp claim. If every new lead triggers an assignment, a task template and a Slack message, that is three actions a lead. Core’s 1,000 actions cover about 333 leads a month before any follow-up automation runs. Business’s 10,000 covers about 3,333.

How does ClickUp compare with monday CRM on cost and limits?

For 5 seats at list price with annual billing, ClickUp Core is $45 a month and monday CRM Basic is $60. The gap is $15 a month. monday CRM bills a 3-seat minimum and publishes contact, automation and board limits for each CRM plan (monday.com pricing page, checked Oct 22, 2026).

Monthly cost for 5 seats, annual billing, list price (USD)

monday CRM Pro
$140
ClickUp Business
$85
monday CRM Standard
$85
monday CRM Basic
$60
ClickUp Core
$45

Seats multiplied by the per-seat annual price on each vendor's pricing page (ClickUp $9 and $17, monday CRM $12, $17 and $28), checked Oct 22, 2026. Taxes and add-ons excluded.

ClickUp Business and monday CRM Standard cost the same for 5 seats ($85), so at that tier the choice is about limits, not price:

QuestionClickUp (Core, Business)monday CRM (Basic, Standard, Pro)
Is it a separate CRM product?No, a workspace with a Sales and CRM template categoryYes, monday CRM has its own plans
Contacts and deals capNone stated, none to cap1,000 / 10,000 / 100,000 active contacts and deals
Automations1,000 / 10,000 actions per monthNot listed on Basic / 250 / 25,000 custom automations per month
Columns per boardNot stated as a limit5 / 15 / 75
Custom dashboardsDashboards with 50+ widgets1 / 5 / 50
Minimum seatsNot stated3

monday’s Basic plan limit of 5 columns per board is a harder ceiling for a CRM than anything on ClickUp Core. If you are weighing the two, monday CRM versus monday work management explains why the CRM plans are a different purchase from the general product.

What can go wrong when you build a CRM in ClickUp?

The failure modes come from having no native objects. Three show up in ClickUp’s own documentation:

  • Relationship columns are the join. The help center says only Tasks from a specific List support using Custom Fields as Relationship columns. A contact that belongs to two accounts needs a deliberate design, because that is a many-to-many link.
  • Custom Field uses are capped on Free. The help center puts it at 60 on Free Forever and unlimited on paid plans, so a CRM with a dozen fields per List runs out fast on Free.
  • Automation actions are a shared pool. Every workspace automation, CRM or not, draws from the same monthly total.

The checks we could not run from public pages: how ClickUp handles duplicate contacts, whether email threads attach to a contact automatically, and how forecasting would work across Lists. The ClickUp pages we could read do not state any of them. Do a one-day trial with 50 real leads before you migrate anything.

Is monday CRM a safer alternative?

For a team whose main job is selling, yes. monday CRM was built as a CRM and states its limits openly, and monday.com as a CRM still needs setup. The difference is that the contact and deal objects exist, so you configure instead of inventing them. Its pricing explained guide covers the seat math.

ClickUp is the better fit when:

  • The business runs projects in ClickUp already and sales is under about 300 leads a month.
  • You want one login and one price for tasks, docs and a simple pipeline.
  • Nobody on the sales team needs forecasting or inbox history on the contact.

monday CRM, or another dedicated CRM, is the better fit when:

  • Sales reps work the pipeline all day and need the contact record to hold the history.
  • You want published contact and automation limits, not a shared action pool.
  • You expect to grow past a few hundred active deals.

The how to choose a CRM guide has the longer decision frame.

What does switching from ClickUp to a CRM cost?

The cost is mostly cleanup, not software. ClickUp stores leads and contacts as tasks in Lists, so a migration means exporting tasks, splitting person and company data into separate records, mapping custom fields and rebuilding automations. Plan a de-duplication pass first: the CRM data cleaning before migration article lists the checks, and the CRM migration guide covers cutover. Neither lists a ClickUp-specific export procedure, and ClickUp’s help center is the place to confirm export formats for your plan.

When to get help

If you are deciding whether a ClickUp pipeline has outgrown itself, the useful input is a count of active deals and the three automations you cannot lose. aibrevo implements monday.com CRM and seven other platforms; migration out of ClickUp into one of them is quoted per project, because it depends on how many Lists and fields you built. Book a short call or send a message, and see the monday.com service page for what a build covers.

Sources

More guides

Related reading

FAQs

Is ClickUp a CRM?

ClickUp is a work management tool that its own help center shows being used as a CRM, not a dedicated CRM product. The help center recommends List views for leads, deals, accounts and contacts, Board views for stages, and Relationship columns to link them. You assemble the pipeline, fields and automations yourself on any plan (checked Oct 22, 2026).

Can you use ClickUp as a CRM for free?

You can start on the Free Forever plan, but it is tight for sales. ClickUp's pricing page lists 60 MB of storage, 100 automation actions per workspace per month, 5 active automation rules and 40 lists per space on Free. Its help center also caps Custom Field uses at 60 on Free, so a real pipeline usually needs Core (checked Oct 22, 2026).

Does ClickUp have a CRM template?

Yes. ClickUp's template library has a Sales & CRM category, including a folder-based CRM template with pipelines and one contact database, a Sales Pipeline template and a Quick Start Sales & CRM template. The template pages show different counts of statuses and views, so open the template and check what it creates before you commit to it.

Is ClickUp or monday.com better as a CRM?

monday CRM is the safer pick for a sales team because it is a separate CRM product with deal and contact limits per plan, 250 custom automations a month on Standard and 25,000 on Pro. ClickUp is cheaper per seat and better when the sales process is one small part of a team already managing projects there (checked Oct 22, 2026).

Can ClickUp sync emails with contacts?

ClickUp's sales page says it integrates with Salesforce, HubSpot, Gmail and Outlook to sync customer data, emails and follow-ups. The pages we could read do not say whether synced email is logged against a specific contact record automatically, so test one real inbox on a trial before relying on it for sales history.

What does ClickUp lack compared with a real CRM?

The ClickUp pages we could read do not mention lead scoring, forecasting, duplicate detection or a native contact and company object. Dedicated CRMs list those as standard. Their absence from ClickUp's documentation means you would build approximations with custom fields, statuses and automations, and you would own the upkeep.

Stuck on this? Ask an engineer

Not ready for a call? Send one question about your setup. An engineer replies by email within one business day.

Want a second opinion on your setup?

A free 30-minute call with an engineer. A written read on your current setup, whether or not you hire us.