What Is the Difference Between Salesforce Sales Cloud and Service Cloud?
Quick answer
Sales Cloud is Salesforce's product for selling: lead and deal tracking, forecasting and sales AI agents. Service Cloud is its product for supporting customers after the sale: case management, knowledge, self-service, contact center and field service. They share the same edition ladder and prices, from $25 to $550 per user per month.
Key takeaways
- Salesforce describes Sales Cloud as its sales force automation CRM (leads, pipeline, forecasting, sales AI agents) and Service Cloud as its customer service product (cases, knowledge, self-service, contact center, field service). Checked on salesforce.com, Oct 22, 2026.
- Both pricing pages list the same ladder per user per month: Starter Suite $25, Pro Suite $100, Core $195, Advanced $395 and Max $550. For 10 users that is $3,000, $12,000, $23,400, $47,400 and $66,000 a year at list.
- On the Service pricing page, case management and a self-service help center are listed from Core ($195), and enhanced real-time chat from Pro Suite ($100). Sales quoting and forecasting appear at Pro Suite on the Sales page.
- Max adds the full AI suite on both pages: Agentforce for Sales on the Sales page, Agentforce for Service plus contact center tools and an IT service desk on the Service page, with 2.75 million Flex Credits per org per year.
- The pages we read do not say how Sales and Service licenses combine or what a bundle costs, so get a quote before you assume two products cost the sum of two list prices.
Sales Cloud sells and Service Cloud supports. Salesforce’s own pages describe Sales Cloud as its sales force automation CRM, built around leads, pipeline, forecasting and AI sales agents. Service Cloud is its customer service product: cases, knowledge, self-service, a contact center and field service. Both sit on one Salesforce platform and share an edition and price ladder from $25 to $550 per user per month.
This page lays out what each product does, where the feature lines fall on the pricing pages, what 10 users cost, and how to choose first. It comes from Salesforce’s Sales and Service product and pricing pages, read on October 22, 2026. Salesforce’s pages are marketing pages and show tables whose columns did not always map cleanly when we read them, so features we could not place are left out.
What does Sales Cloud do compared with Service Cloud?
| Sales Cloud | Service Cloud | |
|---|---|---|
| Job | Win and grow revenue | Resolve customer issues |
| Who uses it | Sales reps, managers, sales ops | Support agents, supervisors, field and IT teams |
| Core records and tools named on the page | Lead management, forecasting, Sales Analytics, Sales Engagement, Sales Data, Sales Performance Management (quotas, plans, territories, incentives) | Customer service management (interactions, cases, incidents, knowledge, assets), self-service, contact center, field service, employee service |
| AI agents named | AI sales agents, Hunter (an outbound agent) | Agents for customers, service reps, supervisors, field teams and employees |
| Add-ons named | Sales Programs, Buyer Engagement, Partner Cloud, Sales Cloud in Slack, Spiff commissions | IT Service, HR Service, Service Cloud in Slack, Visual Remote Assistant |
| Quoting and CPQ | Under a separate product, Revenue Lifecycle Management and CPQ | Not applicable |
Source: salesforce.com/sales/ and salesforce.com/service/, checked Oct 22, 2026. Salesforce’s pages also carry customer-story figures and analyst badges that we did not use, because they come without method or dates.
In practice the dividing line is time. Sales Cloud covers the record from first contact to closed deal. Service Cloud takes over after the sale and tracks each customer problem as a case through to resolution. A company that sells subscriptions, with account managers and a support desk, often wants both so the same customer record shows deals and open cases.
How much do Sales Cloud and Service Cloud cost?
The price ladder is the same on both pages, per user per month, billed yearly (Starter Suite can be billed monthly).
| Edition | Per user per month | 10 users per year | What the Service page lists |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starter Suite | $25 | $3,000 | Lead, account, contact and opportunity management, email marketing and analytics, sales flows and lead routing, connected Slack conversations |
| Pro Suite | $100 | $12,000 | Everything in Starter plus enhanced real-time chat, greater customization and automation, sales quoting and forecasting |
| Core | $195 | $23,400 | Case Management, a Self-Service Help Center, Slack Business+ with Slackbot |
| Advanced | $395 | $47,400 | Everything in Core plus a help agent called Casey, and a Premier Success Plan with full sandbox, Backup & Recover and Data Detect |
| Max | $550 | $66,000 | Everything in Advanced plus Agentforce for Service, contact center tools, IT service desk, Tableau Next, Slack Enterprise+, 2.75 million Flex Credits per org per year |
Source: salesforce.com/service/pricing, at the time of writing, checked Oct 22, 2026; yearly totals are our arithmetic. The Sales page lists the same prices with sales features (Pro Suite quoting and forecasting, Advanced Sales Programs, Max Agentforce for Sales). The page text does not tell us which Core features come with the Sales license versus the Service license, so confirm that in a quote.
Two details. The new Core, Advanced and Max editions were launched on September 3, 2026, and our edition explainer covers what happened to the older Enterprise and Unlimited names. And Starter Suite and Pro Suite appear on both pages with sales-oriented features, so the entry editions blend selling and early service use, while a proper case-management setup begins at Core on the Service page.
Which should you buy first, Sales Cloud or Service Cloud?
This part is our recommendation, not Salesforce’s.
| If your main pain is | Start with | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Leads, pipeline and forecasts are in spreadsheets | Sales Cloud | Lead management, forecasting and quoting are its job |
| Customer questions arrive by email, chat and phone and nothing tracks them | Service Cloud | Case management and a self-service help center are listed from Core |
| You sell and also support the same customers | Both, on one org | One customer record shows deals and cases; ask for a combined quote |
| You have fewer than 10 users and want low risk | A smaller CRM first | A flat-priced CRM can cost far less than $12,000 a year for 10 users; see the CRM pricing comparison |
Before you license either, price the whole project. Licenses are the visible part, and implementation, data migration and integrations are usually the larger share, as the Salesforce implementation cost guide and the Salesforce pricing calculator show. If you are comparing platforms, HubSpot vs Salesforce sets out the trade-offs, and the Salesforce migration guide covers moving data in.
What can’t we tell from the pricing pages?
Several things people ask are not stated in the page text we could read.
- Bundle price. No combined Sales plus Service price appears.
- Per-feature edition map. Many rows (omni-channel routing, SLAs, field service, voice) were not mappable to editions.
- Storage and sandboxes by edition. The Sales page shows storage values such as 10 GB per org plus 20 MB per user, and 1 GB per user, but the columns did not map reliably to editions.
- Email limits. The Sales page names Mass Email and Gmail or Outlook integration without numbers. The per-day send limits live in Salesforce Help, which would not load for us, so this page does not state them.
For any of these, ask Salesforce or a partner to confirm in writing.
When to get help
Picking the product is the easy part. Get help when sales and support must share one customer record, when cases need routing and entitlements, when you are migrating from another CRM or help desk, or when the Core, Advanced and Max pricing changes your renewal. aibrevo implements Salesforce and seven other CRMs, and quotes per project. You can book a short call or send a message, and the Salesforce service page describes the work.
Sources
- Salesforce, Sales Cloud and Sales pricing, checked Oct 22, 2026.
- Salesforce, Service Cloud and Service pricing, checked Oct 22, 2026.